ICES Awards

Prix d'Excellence

​​​The ​​​​​​​​​​Prix d'Excellence recognizes the highest level of achievement in marine sciences and important contributions to ICES vision.

​​Like the community ICES envisions, this award is broader than the organization. Contributions within the ICES region and throughout the world are recognized. Candidates for this award need not have had an association with ICES, although their work and achievements will be relevant. They will have contributed to the sustained use and conservation of marine ecosystems through their research, scientific leadership and/or leadership in the objective application of science to policy. Innovation, teamwork, mentoring, and objective communication with the public exemplify the career of the recipient of this award.

The Prix d Excellence is presented every third year at the ICES Annual Science Conference (ASC). Travel expenses to the ASC to receive the award will be paid from revenue from the conference registration fee, and the recipient’s registration fee will be waived in the future.

​Nominations for Prix d'Excellence 2020 are now closed. ​

Print this pagePrint it Request newsletterSend to Post to Facebook Post to Twitter Post to LinkedIn Share it

William Cheung was awarded the Prix d'Excellence in 2017.

​Prix d'Excellence recipients:

2017 William Cheung, Canada

​2014 Carl Walters, Canada

​​2011 Carlos M. Duarte, Spain​​

​2008  D. Vance Holliday, USA​

c FollowFollow Focus on ContentFocus on Content
HelpGive Feedback

Prix d'Excellence

International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES) · Conseil International pour l'Exploration de la Mer (CIEM)
ICES Secretariat · H. C. Andersens Boulevard 44-46, DK 1553 Copenhagen V, Denmark · Tel: +45 3338 6700 · Fax: +45 3393 4215 ·
Disclaimer Privacy policy · © ICES - All Rights Reserved